The Mission of the Georgia Council for the Social Studies is to advocate for, support, and celebrate the advancement of quality social studies teaching for Georgia students.

The Vision of the Georgia Council for the Social Studies is to prepare students to be knowledgeable, effective decision makers and engaged citizens in a globally interdependent world.

GEORGIA COUNCIL FOR THE SOCIAL STUDIES

www.gcss.net

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

November 2017 – Website List

 

 

PRESIDENT

 

David Kendrick   (2021)

email: dtkendrick@gmail.com

Bear Creek Middle School

228 Jefferson St., Statham, GA 30666

OFC: 770-725-5575

 

 

PRESIDENT ELECT

 

Heather MacKenzie  (2022)

email: hmackenzie@henry.k12.ga.us

Henry County Schools

33 N. Zack Hinton Parkway

McDonough, GA 30253

ofc:  770-957-6547  fax: 770-957-0301

 

 

PAST PRESIDENTS

 

Tammy Ponder (2018)

email: trponder@paulding.k12.ga.us

Paulding County Schools/Moses Middle

1066 Old County Farm Rd.

Dallas, GA 30132

ofc:  770-443-8727 fax: 770-443-8078

 

Chris Cannon (2019)

work email:  ccannon11@gsu.edu

Georgia Council on Economic Education

P. O.  Box 1619, Atlanta 30301-1619

ofc:  404-413-7823/ fax: 404-413-7827


Pam Roach (2020)

North Cobb High School

3400 Old Highway 41 North

Kennesaw, GA 30144

ofc:   770-975-6685

work email:  pamela.roach@cobbk12.org

 

 

BOARD MEMBERS

 

Sally Meyer (2018)

Fayette County Schools

Lafayette Ave., Fayetteville, GA 30214

ofc:   770-460-3990

email: meyer.sally@mail.fcboe.org

 

Laura Ambrose (2019)

Clarke County Social Studies Coordinator

440 Dearing Extension

Athens, GA 30606

ofc:  706-546-7721   x20761  

 

Kim Weston   (2019)

work email: kimberlyn_h_weston@dekalbschoolsga.org

Social Studies Coordinator, K-12

DeKalb County Schools

1701 Mountain Industrial Blvd.

Stone Mountain, GA  30083

OFC: 678-676-0144

 

Dr. Charles Elfer (2020)

work email: charleselfer@clayton.edu

Clayton State University

 

Ernie Lee  (2020)

work email: ernest.lee@sccpss.com

Windsor Forest High School

Savannah, GA 31419

 

Christa Evans Heath (2020)

work email: heathc@fultonschools.org

Centennial High School

Roswell, GA

 

 

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

Eddie Bennett

email: gcss1964@gmail.com

cell: 770-287-2690

P.O. Box 675, Avondale Estates 30002

 

 

SOCIAL STUDIES FAIR DIRECTOR

Sharon Coleman

email: smcoleman50@gmail.com

 

 

GA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

EX OFFICIO MEMBER

Joy Hatcher

email:  jhatcher@doe.k12.ga.us

home email:

Social Studies Program Manager (K-12)

Georgia Department of Education                

1754 Twin Towers, 205 Jesse Hill Jr. Drive, SE

Atlanta, GA  30334-5040

ofc: 404-656-2093

cell: 404-975-7713

 

 

CONFERENCE COORDINATOR

Pam Knauer

home email:  pam.knauer@cox.net

pknauer@mgresa.us

 

 

SECRETARY AND EDITOR, News & Notes

JoAnn Wood

home email: msjoannwood@gmail.com

 

 

HISTORIAN

David Kendrick   (2016)

email: dtkendrick@gmail.com

Bear Creek Middle School

228 Jefferson St., Statham, GA 30666

OFC: 770-725-5575

 

Media Coordinator

Jennifer Dawson

email: jdawsonsocialstudies@gmail.com

Lost Mountain Middle School

 

Mailing Address

Georgia Council for the Social Studies

P. O. Box 675

Avondale Estates, GA 30002