COMING SOON! A new look and feel for gcss.net
The Mission of the Georgia Council for the Social Studies is to advocate for, support, and celebrate the advancement of quality social studies teaching for Georgia students.

The Vision of the Georgia Council for the Social Studies is to prepare students to be knowledgeable, effective decision makers and engaged citizens in a globally interdependent world.

Funding has been provided by Georgia Humanities and the National Endowment for the Humanities as part of the American Rescue Act of 2021.

Board of Trustees

October 2023 - Website List

 

PRESIDENT
Melanie Kellam

email: melanie.kellam3112@gmail.com

Woodland Middle School

 

PRESIDENT ELECT (2027)

Jan Hansen

EMAIL: Hansen.janet@fcboe.org 

McIntosh High School

 

PAST PRESIDENTS

Ernie Lee  (2024)

work email: ernest.lee@sccpss.com

Savannah Arts Academy

500 Washington Avenue Savannah, GA. 31406

OFC: 912-395-5000, ext. 722-109

 

Jennifer Dawson (2025)

email: jdawsonsocialstudies@gmail.com

Lost Mountain Middle School

700 Old Mountain Road

Kennesaw, GA  30152

 

Joseph (Joe) Feinberg (2026)

email: jfeinberg@gsu.edu

Georgia State University

P.O. Box 3978

Atlanta, GA  30302-3978

 

BOARD MEMBERS

Lisa Rogers (2024)

work email: lisa.rogers@cobbk12.org

Smyrna Elementary School

1099 Fleming St.

Smyrna, GA 30080

 

Lauren Bradshaw (2024)

email: laurenyarnellbradshaw@gmail.com

College of Education

University of North Georgia

82 College Circle

Dahlonega, GA  30597

 

Semeka Samuels (2025)

email: Semeka@mikvachallenge.org

National Summit Director/Partner Site Director, Mikva Challenge

 

Virnilisa Printup (2026)

work email: vprintup@rockdale.k12.ga.us

Rockdale County Schools

 

Pauncho Hufstetler (2026)

EMAIL: phufstetler@dcboe.com

Bainbridge High School

1 Bearcat Blvd

Bainbridge, GA  39819

 

Eric Lauterbach (2026)

EMAIL: elauterbach@forsyth.k12.ga.us

Forsyth County Schools

1120 Dahlonega Hwy

Cumming, GA  30040

 

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

Rhonda Webb

email: director@gcss.net  

cell: 770-598-1545

GCSS Mailing Address: PO Box 1105

Roswell, GA  30077

 

SOCIAL STUDIES FAIR DIRECTOR 

Pamela Roach

EMAIL: fair@gcss.net or pamelasroach@gmail.com 

 

GA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION 

EX OFFICIO MEMBER

Joy Hatcher

email:  jhatcher@doe.k12.ga.us 

home email: 

Social Studies Program Manager (K-12) 

Georgia Department of Education                

1754 Twin Towers, 205 Jesse Hill Jr. Drive, SE

Atlanta, GA  30334-5040 

ofc: 404-656-2093 

cell: 404-975-7713

 

Media Coordinator

Jennifer Dawson

email: jdawsonsocialstudies@gmail.com

Lost Mountain Middle School

700 Old Mountain Road

Kennesaw, GA  30152

 

CONFERENCE COORDINATORS

Pam Knauer 

home email:  knauerpamela6@gmail.com

 

Gretna Soltis

EMAIL: gretna.soltis2020@gmail.com 

 

SECRETARY 

JoAnn Wood

home email: msjoannwood@gmail.com 

cell: 770-355-9695

 

HISTORIAN

David Kendrick   

email: dtkendrick@gmail.com 

Loganville High School

100 Trident Trail, Loganville, GA 30052

OFC: 678-684-2880