The Mission of the Georgia Council for the Social Studies is to advocate for, support, and celebrate the advancement of quality social studies teaching for Georgia students.

The Vision of the Georgia Council for the Social Studies is to prepare students to be knowledgeable, effective decision makers and engaged citizens in a globally interdependent world.

GEORGIA COUNCIL FOR THE SOCIAL STUDIES

www.gcss.net

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

June 2019 – Website List

 

 

 

PRESIDENT

Heather MacKenzie  (2022)

email: hmackenzie@henry.k12.ga.us

Henry County Schools

33 N. Zack Hinton Parkway

McDonough, GA 30253

ofc:  770-957-6547  fax: 770-957-0301

 

PRESIDENT ELECT

Ernie Lee (2023)

Work email:ernest.lee@sccpss.com

Windsor-Forest High School

2 East 62nd Street

Savannah, GA 31405

Ofc: 912-395-3400

 

PAST PRESIDENTS

 

Chris Cannon (2019)

work email:  ccannon11@gsu.edu

Georgia Council on Economic Education

P. O.  Box 1619, Atlanta 30301-1619

ofc:  404-413-7823/ fax: 404-413-7827


Pam Roach (2020)

North Cobb High School

3400 Old Highway 41 North

Kennesaw, GA 30144

ofc:   770-975-6685

work email:  pamela.roach@cobbk12.org

 

David Kendrick  (2021)

email: dtkendrick@gmail.com

Bear Creek Middle School

228 Jefferson St., Statham, GA 30666

OFC: 770-725-5575

 

BOARD MEMBERS

 

Laura Ambrose (2019)

Clarke County Social Studies Coordinator

440 Dearing Extension

Athens, GA 30606

ofc:  706-546-7721   x20761

 

email: ambrosel@clarke.k12.ga.us

 

Kim Weston  (2019)

work email: kimberlyn_h_weston@dekalbschoolsga.org

Social Studies Coordinator, K-12

DeKalb County Schools

1701 Mountain Industrial Blvd.

Stone Mountain, GA  30083

OFC: 678-676-0144

 

 

Dr. Charles Elfer (2020)

work email: charleselfer@clayton.edu

Clayton State University

P. O. Box 221

Fayetteville, GA 30214

OFC: 678-466-4884

 

 

Ernie Lee  (2020)

work email:ernest.lee@sccpss.com

Windsor-Forest High School

2 East 62nd Street

Savannah, GA 31405

OFC: 912-395-3400

 

 

Christa Evans Heath (2020)

work email: heathc@fultonschools.org

Centennial High School

9310 Scott Road

Roswell, GA 30075

 

Brian Sirmans (2021)

work email: brian.sirmans@lanier.k12.ga.us

Lanier County High School

52 West Patten Avenue

Lakeland, Georgia 31635

 

 

 

 

 

 

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

Eddie Bennett

email: gcss1964@gmail.com

cell: 770-287-2690

P.O. Box 675, Avondale Estates 30002

 

SOCIAL STUDIES FAIR DIRECTOR

Sharon Coleman

email: smcoleman50@gmail.com

 

GA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

EX OFFICIO MEMBER

Joy Hatcher

email:  jhatcher@doe.k12.ga.us

home email:

Social Studies Program Manager (K-12)

Georgia Department of Education                 1754 Twin Towers, 205 Jesse Hill Jr. Drive, SE

Atlanta, GA  30334-5040

ofc: 404-656-2093

 

Media Coordinator

Jennifer Dawson

email:   jdawsonsocialstudies@gmail.com

Lost Mountain Middle School

 

 

CONFERENCE COORDINATOR

Pam Knauer

home email:  pam.knauer@cox.net

pknauer@mgresa.us

 

SECRETARY AND EDITOR, News & Notes

JoAnn Wood

home email: msjoannwood@gmail.com

cell: 770-355-9695

 

HISTORIAN

David Kendrick   (2021)

email: dtkendrick@gmail.com

Bear Creek Middle School

228 Jefferson St., Statham, GA 30666

OFC: 770-725-5575

 

Mailing Address

Georgia Council for the Social Studies

P. O. Box 675

Avondale Estates, GA 30002